Danza de los Diablos!

 

 

 

Today’s photo shoot at Old Mission San Luis Rey de Francia in Oceanside was filled with surprises. The original plan was to meet up with some members of the Pacific Photographic Society and capture the Dia de los Muertos festivities. I was expecting catrina makeup, chalk cemeteries, and altars. What I didn’t expect was something that I spent most of my time shooting: la Danza de los Diablos by Organización Tecomaxtlahuaqueña.
DiaMuertos SanLuis-1954
I really do need to start learning Spanish again. It’s been fifteen years since Señora O’Hara taught me the basics in eighth grade and I’ve been shedding it ever since. As a result, I had no idea what was going on as a costumed group gathered in the Mission’s plaza. Diablo-masked, donning suit-and-tie, and satyr-leg chaps they paraded through the Mission, cracking whips and terrifying children. As you might guess, I was giddy.
DiaMuertos SanLuis-1979
Too close for comfort. This whip cracked inches from my camera lens. How do I know I love what I do? Instead of backing up, I inched closer. Shooting events like this has reminded me just how much I love photography.

DiaMuertos SanLuis-1981     DiaMuertos SanLuis-1988
Antlers, horns, and spikes adorn each unique mask.

DiaMuertos SanLuis-2025

Los Diablos!

Typically I wouldn’t try to take a shot like this, but once I had it on my computer screen I was really happy with the focus thrown to the figures in the back of the frame. It’s a good lesson learned on a day full of surprises: focusing on the subject in the foreground is usually a good idea, but sometimes a mistake can create a compelling image.

DiaMuertos SanLuis-2029    DiaMuertos SanLuis-2030

Here’s another example of a photo surprise. I’m typically a snob when it comes to focused images. I’m always trying to create the sharpest images that my equipment will allow, but this photo is another that creates some drama with a shallow depth of field.

DiaMuertos SanLuis-2054     DiaMuertos SanLuis-2065

The Diablos danced (bailaron?) to traditional Oaxacan music, or so I gathered through my limited grasp of Spanish. If there’s a story they were telling I can’t relay it, but I am in touch with the group to learn more. And that’s the big thing about a day like this: I learned a lot. Sure, I learned that my camera sometimes has a mind of its own, and that sometimes that makes for great pics. But I also learned that Dia de los Muertos isn’t just sugar skulls and altars, and it’s definitely not a festival of mourning. It’s a celebration of the lives of those who’ve gone before us into… well, into whatever or wherever we go when we die. If that’s anything like the festival at Mission San Luis Rey, I’ll have no idea what anyone is saying but I’ll be happy to celebrate, regardless.

Death festivals remind me that there’s a reason I’m getting back into photography. I’m only going to be converting oxygen into carbon dioxide for so long, and I should embrace what little time I have here by doing the things that I’m passionate about, the things that I love. For now, that means carrying a camera with me everywhere I go. If I can turn that into a career, I’m going to be a very happy guy.

Leave a comment